Shortlists announced for the BMS Annual Awards

POSTED ON: 26/06/13 TAGS: Adult fiction Awards Children's fiction Guerrilla marketing Non-fiction Shortlist

by BMS

The BMS runs three Seasonal Best Marketing Campaign Awards each year to reward the best campaigns within the industry. This year’s Annual Award shortlists are drawn from both the winners of the Seasonal Awards, along with additional submissions by members and two categories which recognise excellence in copywriting and design. Each campaign must display outstanding innovation and creativity, the ability to reach and engage with the target audience and a good return on investment.

To recap, the categories in contention are:

  • Best Blurb
  • Best Package
  • Best Debut Campaign
  • Best Brand Management
  • Best Shoestring Campaign
  • Best Marketing Campaign 2012

The judges are a mix of leading marketing and advertising professionals from across industries, who bring a variety of skills and experience and a collective passion for books to the selection process:

  • Dominic Gettins, Head of Writing at Havaas Worldwide, the fifth-largest global agency network
  • John Bond, co-founder of whitefox, a new publishing services network acting for publishers, agents, writers and brands and former m.d. of Press Books at HarperCollins
  • Miriam Robinson, Head of Marketing at Foyles, UK National Bookseller of the Year 2013 & 2012
  • Nicholas Clee, joint Editor of BookBrunch, the publishing trade’s daily online news magazine
  • Sam Missingham, Head of Events & Marketing, The BooksellerFutureBook We Love This Book
  • Jo Henry, Executive Director and joint-founder of the BMS, and Global Director of Bowker Market Research, the leading provider of business intelligence for the book industry
  • Alastair Giles, joint-founder of the BMS and MD of Agile Marketing, an independent agency working to attach sponsors and media partners to specially created book promotions
  • Jon Slack, Development Manager for the BMS, also involved in a number of literary and industry events across the trade


Jo Henry commented:  “As always, the judges were delighted and inspired by the fantastic creativity publishers display as they seek ever more inventive ways to connect with their audience.  Some of these shortlists were hard fought over, others were more obvious – but all of these campaigns are entirely deserving of their place. We look forward to announcing the winners on the 9th July.”

Winners will be revealed at the Bookseller’s Marketing and Publicity Conference, to be held at the Southbank Centre on July 9th.

The shortlists are….


Best Brand Management 

  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Third Wheel, Jeff Kinney (Puffin)
  • Me Before You, Jojo Moyes (Penguin)
  • The Hobbit, J R R Tolkien (HarperCollins)
  • Ratburger, David Walliams (HarperCollins)


Best Debut Campaign

  • Fifty Shades of Grey, E L James (Arrow/Random House)
  • Charlotte Street, Danny Wallace (Ebury/Random House)


Best Shoestring Campaign

  • Unknown Pleasures, Peter Hook (Simon & Schuster)
  • POLPO, Russell Norman (Bloomsbury)
  • BFI Film Classics, Various (Palgrave Macmillan)


Best Design Package  

  • The Teleportation Accident, Ned Beauman (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Tired of London, Tired of Life, Tom Jones (Ebury/Random House)
  • POLPO, Russell Norman (Bloomsbury)
  • Jerusalem, Yotam Ottolenghi (Ebury/Random House)


Best Blurb (decided by public vote)

  • The Teleportation Accident, Ned Beauman (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Bleak Expectations, Mark Evans (Constable & Robinson)
  • Is It Just Me?, Miranda Hart (Hodder)


The Best Marketing Campaign of the Year Award will be drawn from previous 2012 winners and the winners of the following three categories above:

  • Best Shoestring Campaign
  • Best Debut Campaign
  • Best Brand Management




Related posts