Awards submission

The October-December 2019 awards are now open for entries until 5pm on the 22nd January 2020.

To reward marketing campaign excellence and commercial creativity across the publishing industry for books published or campaigns launched between 1st October 2019 and 31st December 2019.

Judging will seek to reward imaginative, effective and innovative campaigns and are looking for evidence of compelling results against these criteria:

Impact, effectiveness and return on investment, audience understanding and growth, creativity, strategy and media planning, innovation and evidence of expanding the market or ways in which your campaign has taken the industry forward.

Who can enter:

Anyone working in marketing at a UK publisher, bookseller/retailer, book organisation or charity who is a member of the BMS.

How to enter:

  1. Please complete the web form below
  2. Attach a single PDF outlining your campaign, including any campaign visuals (please keep within 2500 words and approx. 10 pages). Max upload size 8MB. PDFs can include live links to supporting videos.
  3. Send a single copy of the book to:
    FAO Chloe Healy
    Vintage Books
    20 Vauxhall Bridge Road
    SW1V 2SA

Closing date: 5pm 22nd January 2019

The judges are looking for evidence of well-planned and executed marketing campaigns with clear objectives and tangible results. You should provide key data to support your entry and claims, including marketing budget (and whether consumer only or trade AND consumer) and sales and chart achievements. We ask that you be as transparent as possible around digital/social media analytics, reach stats and where sales numbers include a heavy split of low price ebooks, etc.

We advise that your PDF commentary covers the following areas:

  • Campaign objectives and context or marketing challenge
  • Audience targeting and insight
  • Campaign execution summary
  • Innovation and creativity
  • Results, effectiveness against objectives and return on investment
  • Campaign impact, why you should win campaign of the season