Wimpy Kid wins Best Marketing Campaign for 2012

POSTED ON: 09/07/13 TAGS: Adult fiction Awards Children's fiction Guerrilla marketing Non-fiction

by BMS

The BMS is delighted to announce the winners for the second Annual Marketing Campaign of the Year Awards, for campaigns conducted in 2012. The bestselling children’s title Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Third Wheel was declared the overall winner, with the Best Marketing Campaign of 2012 and also Best Brand Management. The announcement was made today (July 9th) at The Bookseller’s Marketing and Publicity Conference at the Southbank Centre, with five other category winners also revealed.

This year’s Annual Award shortlists were drawn from the winners of the 2012 Seasonal Awards, along with additional submissions by members, plus two categories which recognised excellence in copywriting and design. Each campaign was required to display outstanding innovation and creativity, the ability to reach and engage with the target audience and a good return on investment.

The categories in contention were:

  • Best Blurb
  • Best Package
  • Best Debut Campaign
  • Best Brand Management
  • Best Shoestring Campaign
  • Best Marketing Campaign 2012

Jo Henry commented:  “Our winners were real stand out campaigns in their categories so congratulations to them all. The overall winner in Wimpy Kid displayed real skill, professionalism, focus and audience connection with fantastic growth for the brand.”

The judges were a mix of leading marketing and advertising professionals from across industries, who brought a variety of skills and experience and a collective passion for books to the selection process:

  • Dominic Gettins, Head of Writing at Havaas Worldwide, the fifth-largest global agency network
  • John Bond, co-founder of whitefox, a new publishing services network acting for publishers, agents, writers and brands and former m.d. of Press Books at HarperCollins
  • Miriam Robinson, Head of Marketing at Foyles, UK National Bookseller of the Year 2013 & 2012
  • Nicholas Clee, joint Editor of BookBrunch, the publishing trade’s daily online news magazine
  • Sam Missingham, Head of Events & Marketing, The BooksellerFutureBook We Love This Book
  • Jo Henry, Executive Director and joint-founder of the BMS, and Global Director of Bowker Market Research, the leading provider of business intelligence for the book industry
  • Alastair Giles, joint-founder of the BMS and MD of Agile Marketing, an independent agency working to attach sponsors and media partners to specially created book promotions
  • Jon Slack, Development Manager for the BMS, also involved in a number of literary and industry events across the trade

Without any further ado…


The winner for Best Brand Management:

  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Third Wheel, Jeff Kinney (Puffin)

The winner for Best Debut Campaign:

  • Fifty Shades of Grey, E L James (Arrow/Random House)

The winner for Best Shoestring:

  • POLPO, Russell Norman (Bloomsbury)

The winner for Best Package:

  • POLPO, Russell Norman (Bloomsbury)

The winner for Best Blurb (decided by public vote):

  • Is It Just Me?, Miranda Hart (Hodder)

The winner for Best Marketing Campaign 2012:

  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Third Wheel, Jeff Kinney (Puffin)

The shortlists

 Best Brand Management 

  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Third Wheel, Jeff Kinney (Puffin)
  • Me Before You, Jojo Moyes (Penguin)
  • The Hobbit, J R R Tolkien (HarperCollins)
  • Ratburger, David Walliams (HarperCollins)

Best Debut Campaign

  • Fifty Shades of Grey, E L James (Arrow/Random House)
  • Charlotte Street, Danny Wallace (Ebury/Random House)

Best Shoestring Campaign

  • Unknown Pleasures, Peter Hook (Simon & Schuster)
  • POLPO, Russell Norman (Bloomsbury)
  • BFI Film Classics, Various (Palgrave Macmillan)

Best Design Package  

  • The Teleportation Accident, Ned Beauman (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Tired of LondonTired of Life, Tom Jones (Ebury/Random House)
  • POLPO, Russell Norman (Bloomsbury)
  • Jerusalem, Yotam Ottolenghi (Ebury/Random House)

Best Blurb (decided by public vote)

  • The Teleportation Accident, Ned Beauman (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Bleak Expectations, Mark Evans (Constable & Robinson)
  • Is It Just Me?, Miranda Hart (Hodder)


Related posts